¿Creative Villages?

Traces 05 

What role can contemporary art play in a village? In this context, what place can it have and what form can it take? By offering artists, curators and researchers the opportunity to meet and work in and around the municipality of Leytron in the canton of Valais, the project ¿Creative Villages? had two main objectives, one local and the other, global: 1) to measure the effects of the place of reception – in this case one that is rural, peripheral, and rustic – on the development of alternative practices and concepts; 2) to consider the conditions of artistic production within an economy of commissioned projects.

Director : Benoît Antille
Texts : Benoît Antille, Fransisco Camacho, Maëlle Cornut, François Dey, Nicole Murmann, Carmen Perrin, Alexandre Praz, Katerina Samara, Christian Valleise
Languages : french and english
Graphic design : Jérôme Lanon
Format : 20,6 x 16,4
Pages : 119
Édition : ECAV/EDHEA
Publication : 2018
ISBN : 978-2-9700770-5-3
With the support of : Pro Helvetia, HES-SO, Canton of Valais, Commune of Leytron, Loterie Romande
Prix : CHF 15.-


Traces

The mission of the collection Traces is to make more visible the research carried out at the EDHEA. In an economic format, each issue sheds light on a recent project. Drawing on experiences and freshly acquired knowledge, the collection of publications retraces the intentions, aims and challenges of these adventurous enquiries, and looks at their provisional conclusions, unanswered questions and emerging issues.

In an era of conflicting goals, where preservation (heritage) cohabits with eradication (constant innovation), Traces has chosen the middle ground: to maintain the traces of paths taken whilst offering glimpses into yet unexplored territories.

Traces evokes unique journeys undertaken in the course of a history still in the making.

Editorial manager and concept :  Alain Antille

¿Creative Villages?

Traces 05 

Quel rôle l’art contemporain peut-il jouer dans un village ? Quelle place peut-il avoir ou encore quelle forme peut-il prendre dans un tel contexte ? En offrant à des artistes, curateurs et chercheurs la possibilité de se rencontrer et de travailler sur le territoire de la commune de Leytron en Valais, le projet ¿Creative Villages ? visait deux objectifs principaux, l’un local et l’autre global : 1) mesurer les effets du lieu d’accueil – rural, périphérique, villageois – sur l’élaboration de pratiques ou de concepts alternatifs ; 2) interroger les conditions de production artistique au sein d’une économie de projets commissionnés.

Responsable : Benoît Antille
Textes : Benoît Antille, Fransisco Camacho, Maëlle Cornut, François Dey, Nicole Murmann, Carmen Perrin, Alexandre Praz, Katerina Samara, Christian Valleise
Langues : français et anglais
Conception graphique : Jérôme Lanon
Format : 20,6 x 16,4
Pages : 119
Édition : ECAV/EDHEA
Parution : 2018
ISBN : 978-2-9700770-5-3
Avec le soutien de Pro Helvetia, de la HES-SO, du canton du Valais, de la commune de Leytron et de la Loterie Romande
Prix : CHF 15.-


Traces

La collection Traces se donne pour mission de rendre plus visibles les recherches conduites par l’EDHEA. Sous une forme brève, chaque numéro retrace un projet récent. Tirant parti de l’expérience et des connaissances fraîchement acquises, il redit sous une forme plus assurée les intentions qui ont motivé une quête forcément aventureuse, le dessein, les enjeux, l’issue même provisoire. Et les questions restées en suspens ou émergentes.

Dans un temps soumis aux injonctions contradictoires de tout conserver – patrimonialisation – et effacer – innovation permanente–, Traces choisit une voie médiane : garder une trace qui atteste du chemin parcouru et dans le même mouvement laisser entrevoir alentour ou au-devant les territoires encore à explorer.

Traces ou la remémoration de quelques parcours singuliers dans le cours d’une histoire en devenir ...

Concept et direction éditoriale : Alain Antille